ZAMBIA’S continental representative ZANACO Football Club has released a 27-man Confederation of African Football (CAF) registered squad ahead of the campaign as the team embarks on a search of CAF Cup glory.

ZANACO have been given a bye in the first round and will face the winners of the preliminary round tie between Harare City of Zimbabwe and AS Adema of Madagascar.

Zanaco will play the first leg away during the weekend of 11th to 13th March. The second leg is scheduled for the weekend of 18th to 20th March.

The squad list is as follows;-

Goalkeepers: Racha Kola, Mangani Banda, Toaster Nsabata

Defenders: Ziyo Tembo, Aaron Katebe, Peter Jacob Banda, Mwelwa Sakala, Fackson Kapumbu, Gift Sakuwaha, Lee Ngoma, Derrick Mwansa, George Chilufya, Salulani Phiri

Midfielders: Boyd Musonda, Logic Ching’andu, Rodrick Kabwe, Isaac Chansa, Ernest Mbewe, Augustine Mulenga, Potipher Zulu, Aubrey Funga, Richard Kasonde, and Charles Zulu

Strikers: Fashion Sakala, Moses Phiri, Davy Daka and Saith Sakala.

And notable inclusions in the 27- man preparatory  squad were a marquee of new signees of Aaron Katebe, Logic Ching’andu, Saith Sakala, Gift Sakuwaha, Richard Kasonde, Derrick Mwansa and Fashion Sakala.

Striker Saith Sakala arrived from Napsa Stars while his namesake Fashion Sakala has joined from Nchanga Rangers.

Former ZESCO United defender Gift Sakuwaha has joined the bankers along with Logic Ching’andu from Forest Rangers. Others are Derrick Mwansa and Richard Kasonde who have been signed from Nkwazi and Nkana respectively.

Former FC Platinum defender Aaron Katebe who recently left Moroccan side Maghreb Atlantic Tetuoan has also been listed.

Missing on the list are Henry Banda, Mathews Macha, Emmanuel Phiri, Nawa Nawa, Dominic Yobe and Nigerian Utibe Archibong which was a confirmation of reports that they were all on their way out of Sunset Stadium. There was also no mention of midfielder Maunga Kabuku who spent last season on loan at NAPSA Stars. Towering central defender Andrew Kwiliko has also been left out of the 27-man squad.

The goalkeeping department has remained intact with Racha Kola, Toaster Nsabata and Mangani Banda who were part of last season’s squad, were on the squad.

Categorized | Home News, Sport

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsor

Jevic Japanese Auto Inspections

Social Widgets powered by