ECZ confirms 9 presidential candidates


By Nation Reporter

NINE presidential candidates will contest this year’s presidential general elections, according to the Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) nominations timetable.

The commission has not included the former ruling party on the timetable despite Dr Nevers Mumba having successfully paid half of the nomination fees before former Lunte Member of Parliament Felix Mutati grabbed him the presidency through a party convention held at the Mulungushi Rock of Authority.

Yesterday, the commission finalized and published a timetable of how the filing of nominations would proceed this week.

On Wednesday, United National Independence Party (UNIP) president Tilyenji Kaunda and his running mate will be the first to file in his nomination papers at the Mulungushi Conference  Centre to the commission chairperson Esau Chulu.

Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) Edith Nawakwi will file in her nomination papers between 12:00 and 14:00 on the same day and conclude with Democratic Assembly (DA) president Maxwell Mwamba and his running mate.

The ruling Patriotic Front’s (PF) President Edgar Lungu and his running mate Inonge Wina will also file in their nominations on Thursday morning followed by United Progressive People (UPP) between 12:00 and 14:00 while Wynter Kabimba and his running mate Dr Cosmas Musumali would conclude the process on Thursday between 15:00 and 17:00.

Hakainde Hichilema and his yet to be announced running mate would file in their nomination papers on Friday between 15:00 and 17:00 while Green Party president Peter Sinkamba is expected to file in between 12:00 and 14:00 as People’s Alliance for Change (PAC) would be the first ones on Friday between 09:00 and 11:00.