Lusaka Water gets new board of directors

THE Lusaka Water and Sewerage Company (LWS) has been going through serious financial and technical challenges and Government has appointed a new board of directors with the hope that the water utility company will become more viable..

Local Government and Housing minister Stephen Kampyongo said the LWSC had been facing a lot of financial and operational challenges and that it had become prudent to dissolve the previous board to realign the water utility company.

Mr Kampyongo said the water sector was critical to the well-being of citizens and that it was therefore important that water utility companies provided the best services to communities.

He said the new board of directors had a mammoth task to ensure that the LWCS’ operations were optimal to meet the expectations of the general public as well as other stakeholders.

Mr Kampyongo said it was the mandate of all water utility companies to provide safe, clean drinking water as well as adequate sanitation to communities in the country.

Announcing the new board of directors for LWSC at his office yesterday, Mr Kampyongo said the water utility company was facing a number of challenges which the new board was expected to resolve.

He said he was comfortable that Government had settled for the best brains in the country to manage the affairs of the company and appealed to members of staff at the institution to exercise patience as the new board begins its work.

“As you may recall, I dissolved the board of directors for Lusaka Water and Sewerage Company in March this year and I promised to quickly reconstitute the board as I had appointed the permanent secretary to act in the interim for administrative convenience. The new board of Lusaka Water and Sewerage Company will be led by an eminent water and sanitation specialist Dr Dennis Mwanza,” Mr Kampyongo said.

He said those who would be on the board included Dr Levy Siaminwe, assistant dean in the School of Engineering at the University of Zambia, Mr Manuel Mutale, Ms Gertrude Musyani, Ms Mirriam Nkonde Chitalu and Mr Ben Zulu.

Others are Mr Kabinga Nondo, Mr Jonathan Simbeya and Ms Patricia Funjika. Others would be appointed later.