UPND scoops Manyinga Parley seat

JUBILATION characterized Manyinga district as UPND winning candidates together with their supporters in the morning took to the streets  to celebrate their victory.

And Mwinilunga district returning officer Bwalya Ponga declared Newton Samakayi as duly elected Member of Parliament for Mwinilunga constituency at 10 hours after polling 32,645 votes beating Jonathan Kapaipi of PF who only managed to get 2,900.

Mr Allany Kanyemba of UPND was declared dully elected Mwinilunga District Council chairperson.

UPND has also scooped all the 19 local government seats in Mwinilunga constituency.

Manyinga constituency returning officer Kelly Mwebe on Saturday night declared UPND candidate Robert Lihefu as the duly elected Member of Parliament for Manyinga after polling 12,131 votes, beating immediate former Patriotic Front Member of Parliament and former North Western Province minister Danny Chingimbu who polled 3,122 votes

Mr Falliot Samakayi of FDD polled 61 votes with a total of 15,543 votes cast and 229 were rejected.

The UPND also scooped the council chairperson position with its candidate Davinnox Chikuta pollng 12,481 beating his closest rival of the PF Joyce Manjimela who polled 2,611 votes.

And all UPND councillors have scooped all the 12 wards in the constituency.

And   speaking to journalists shortly after being declared winner, Mr Lihefu thanked all his supporters who were with him throughout the campaign period. He also thanked ECZ for ensuring a free and fair electoral process.

The new Member of Parliament further pledged to uplift the living standards of the people of Manyinga through vibrant representation in Parliament.